The Summit Historical Society is a not-for-profit, non-share corporation, organized pursuant to the laws of the State of Mississippi. It was organized as a membership organization for the purposes of bringing together those people interested in the history of Summit and the surrounding area of the State of Mississippi. Its organizers believe that understanding the history of our community is basic to our democratic way of life, gives us a better understanding of our state and our nation and promotes a better appreciation of our American heritage.
Further, our purpose is to discover and collect any material which may help establish or illustrate the history of the area, its exploration, settlement, development and activities in peace or in war; such materials include histories, genealogies, biographies, directories, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, diaries, etc. The Summit Historical Society is a tax-exempt charitable organization under section 501 (c) (3) of the IRS code. For the purposes of solicitation of funds, the organization is also exempt from registration pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. 79-11-505(1)(b) To view a copy of this certificate click here.
Membership in the Summit Historical Society consists of dues paying members; additionally there are charter members who joined during the first year and paid an additional amount to help get the organization established. The organization is governed by a Board of Directors elected by the members at their annual meeting in March. The Board of Directors consist of the Officers of the Society plus two additional Board members elected from the membership at large during the annual meeting. The membership meets quarterly on the first Mondays of March, June, September and December.
To accomplish its purposes, the Society may acquire by donation, gift, contribution, grant or purchase, any and all kinds of property, real, personal or mixed; it may also invest its funds, assets, and property, so as to obtain for the corporation the most advantageous yield or income therefrom. At no time will any member, officer or trustee of the corporation ever receive directly, or indirectly, any salary, fee or compensation from the Society or from any of its funds.
Leslie Brewer, DMD, President
Kathleen Harbour, 1st Vice President
Ray Smith, 2nd Vice President 
Trudy W. Berger, Secretary-Treasurer
Board of Directors
Officers plus two additonal members:
Hudora C. Lewman
Willie Pearl Crossley
Charter Members (available only during 2007)
Annual Dues: $25 per member
Special Donors